PDA

View Full Version : How To Run Mac And Winblows Apps Side By Side



69Voltage
4th April 2011, 03:13 AM
For those of you that might be interested.


http://cultofmac.cultofmaccom.netdna-cdn.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/virtual.png




If you are a recent Mac switcher, there is a good chance that there are some Windows applications that you still may want to use. If so, Virtual Box is a great application to let you do this. In this video, you will se how to get virtual box, install an operating system, and run Windows apps side by side with your OS X apps.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k89HXgj-csg&feature=player_embedded

WhiteHot
4th April 2011, 03:59 AM
Did you watch this Volt?

Really drawn out way of installing VMWare/Parallels with Seamless mode on.

He mentions the other apps, says this is a better way, then installs a virtualization program (<new word), installs Winblows on it, clicks Seamless, and thinks that he's on to something new? I'm actually kind of confused. Does he genuinely think this is any different at all to VMWare/Parallels?

Unless I missed a part you still need
1) Winblows copy
2) Enough memory to virtualize Windows AND have Mac OS X running
and on top of that, what does Parallels/VMWare need? The same two things.

You should search up 'Macindows' or ways to configure Wine Bottles properly or something, IMO.

69Voltage
5th April 2011, 04:51 AM
Nah, didn't watch the whole thing. Just the first minute or so. I've watched some tut's from this guy before and am not too impressed with him.

ferrin
12th April 2011, 03:33 AM
Did you watch this Volt?

Really drawn out way of installing VMWare/Parallels with Seamless mode on.

He mentions the other apps, says this is a better way, then installs a virtualization program (<new word), installs Winblows on it, clicks Seamless, and thinks that he's on to something new? I'm actually kind of confused. Does he genuinely think this is any different at all to VMWare/Parallels?

Unless I missed a part you still need
1) Winblows copy
2) Enough memory to virtualize Windows AND have Mac OS X running
and on top of that, what does Parallels/VMWare need? The same two things.

You should search up 'Macindows' or ways to configure Wine Bottles properly or something, IMO.


The difference is that Virtual Box is Free.
All others are (normally) rather expensive.

TheFreedom
12th April 2011, 07:51 AM
yeh but torrents are there for a reason too you know

WhiteHot
12th April 2011, 11:26 AM
What does torrents have to do with anything haha.

I use torrents if they're from private trackers. Max speed and reliable.
Sharing back sucks but with a SeedBox it's no issue.

@Virtual box being free: Oh. Well then that makes sense.

2rok
13th April 2011, 11:12 PM
thanks for the info! i went with vmware because it had better usb device support...still nice to have them both running at the same time for the small amount of programs you cannot bottle for music production. (usually really old ones) + rep for getting me up on this. still running at full speed. made a lot of things easier, can't wait to really dig into it. by the way, used torrents for both vmware and windows. private tracker as well...wonder if it's the same one.

ferrin
14th April 2011, 08:00 AM
Heh you didn't need to use torrents for that stuff. It's all here on the site.

2rok
14th April 2011, 12:06 PM
yeah, i probably could have. they were small files.

WhiteHot
14th April 2011, 12:34 PM
Heh you didn't need to use torrents for that stuff. It's all here on the site.

:amen:


private tracker as well...wonder if it's the same one.

You talking about Broken Stones? Demonoid?